Department of Computer Science

Two W3-Professorships for Machine Learning


Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (TUK) is a technology and science-oriented research university with an international profile. It is the center of the up-and-coming IT site in the heart of the Palatinate region, which is positioning itself with a future-oriented focus on software technologies and artificial intelligence, especially in the field of machine learning.


A strong network and driving force in the field of AI


The German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), founded in 1988 from the TUK and represented there since then, is a leader in the research and application of artificial intelligence. Further cooperation partners of TUK are the neighbouring Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Mathematics (ITWM), the Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering (IESE) and the Max Planck Institute for Software Systems (MPI-SWS) as well as innovative companies - on site, nationally and internationally. Together with the research institutes, TUK forms a campus university with short distances and a cooperative partnership.


Together with the research institutes, TUK forms a tight-knit, collaborative AI campus.


As a central component of the AI strategy of the state of Rhineland-Palatinate, the following two professorships in the Department of Computer Science at the TUK are to be filled as soon as possible

Professor (W3) for “Applied Machine Learning” (m/f/d)

Professor (W3) for “Fundamental methods in Machine Learning” (m/f/d)

We are seeking internationally visible candidates with research focus in machine learning (ML). The professorship “Applied Machine Learning” will be combined with an additional scientific director position at the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) in Kaiserslautern. The professorship “Fundamental methods in Machine Learning” is primarily rooted at the Department of Computer Science. However, collaboration with researchers across institutes and the department is possible and also anticipated.


For both professorships, topics of interest include the following aspects of ML and deep learning: explainability and interpretability, data fusion, trustworthiness, anomaly detection, fairness, extreme classification, stochastic optimization, learning theory, generative modeling, representation learning, Bayesian ML, and reinforcement learning. Applications of ML and deep learning of interest include, e.g., the following: life science, fintech, climate change and sustainability, social science, and mechanical or process engineering.


Outstanding academic qualifications, as evidenced by a proven record of high-quality publications in renown machine-learning (e.g., NeurIPS, ICML, ICLR, AAAI, COLT, ECML, ACML, JMLR, TPAMI, MLJ, TNNLS, CVPR, ECCV, etc.) or application-specific venues, experience in third-party funding and the implementation of projects, documentation of teaching skills, and excellent English language skills.


Task Areas:

Successful candidates represent their discipline in teaching and research, will develop an independent and creative research program, participate in teaching at bachelor and master level (in English) at the department, supervise PhD students, and participate in the university self-administration. Candidates are expected to be willing to collaborate with existing research groups at the university (disciplinary or interdisciplinary) and support the research of the department in at least one of its main research areas.


Requirements for Employment:

In addition to public service employment regulations, the conditions of employment regulated in §49 of the Universities Act of the state Rhineland-Palatinate apply. The text can be found on the homepage of the University of Kaiserslautern (in German, only) ( https://www.uni-kl.de/intern/meine-tuk/hauptabteilung-1/rechtsvorschriften/). Rhineland-Palatinate and the University of Kaiserslautern support a mentoring concept in which teachers are expected to be present on campus as much as possible. Candidates must be willing to cooperate with the self-administration at the university.


How to apply:

Please send your application until 31. December 2020 in a single PDF file to dekanat@cs.uni-kl.de. Alternatively, you can ask for an upload link or you can send your application via postal mail to the following address:


Dean of the Department of Computer Science,
Technische Universität Kaiserslautern
PO Box 3049,
D-67653 Kaiserslautern


Please specify in the cover letter to which professorship(s) you apply to. The following information is requested, either in German or English (English is preferred): completed candidate data sheet (https://cs.uni-kl.de/en/goto/w3-ml), cover letter, CV (education, appointments, awards, community service), list of all publications and selected talks, list of (e.g., five) representative publications (including electronic link or pdf attached), grants, research statement, teaching portfolio (optional), course evaluations, trainings (if applicable), certificates, list of international collaborators and their affiliation, and references (or their contact information).


With your application, you consent to the further internal processing of your data for official purposes in accordance with the European Data Protection Basic Regulation (DS-GVO) and the State Data Protection Act RLP.


TUK is a family-friendly university. It values the diversity of its members and enables equal opportunities for all.


The University of Kaiserslautern strongly encourages qualified female academics to apply. Kaiserslautern is a family friendly university, which offers a high level of support to applicants with children.


Disabled applicants will be given preference when equally qualified (please enclose evidence).


For further information, please contact

Professorship for “Applied Machine Learning”:
Prof. Dr. Prof. h.c. Andreas Dengel (andreas.dengel@dfki.de).

Professorship for “Fundamental methods in Machine Learning”:
Prof. Dr. Marius Kloft (kloft@cs.uni-kl.de).

Fachbereich Informatik

Zwei W3-Professuren für Maschinelles Lernen


Die Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (TUK) ist eine technisch-naturwissenschaftlich ausgerichtete Forschungsuniversität mit internationaler Sichtbarkeit. Sie bildet das Zentrum des aufstrebenden IT-Standorts im Herzen der Pfalz, der sich mit Schwerpunkten in Softwaretechnologien und Künstlicher Intelligenz, insbesondere im Bereich des Maschinellen Lernens, zukunftweisend positioniert.


A strong network and driving force in the field of AI


Das Deutsche Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI), 1988 aus der TUK heraus gegründet und seitdem dort vertreten, ist führend in der Erforschung und Anwendung von Künstlicher Intelligenz. Weitere Kooperationspartner sind das benachbarte Fraunhofer-Institut für Techno- und Wirtschaftsmathematik (ITWM), das Fraunhofer-Institut für Experimentelles Software Engineering (IESE) und das Max-Planck-Institut für Software Systeme (MPI-SWS) sowie innovative Unternehmen – am Standort, wie auch national und international. Die TUK bildet zusammen mit den Forschungsinstituten eine Campus-Universität mit kurzen Wegen und einem partnerschaftlichen Miteinander.


Die TUK bildet zusammen mit den Forschungsinstituten einen KI-Campus mit kurzen Wegen und einem partnerschaftlichen Miteinander.


Als ein zentraler Bestandteil der KI-Strategie des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz sind an der TUK im Fachbereich Informatik zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt die folgenden zwei Professuren zu besetzen

W3-Professur “Anwendungen des Maschinellen Lernens” (m/w/d)

W3-Professur “Methodische Grundlagen des Maschinellen Lernens“ (m/w/d)

Wir suchen international sichtbare Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten mit Forschungsschwerpunkt im Bereich des Maschinellen Lernens (ML). Die Professur (W3) “Anwendungen des Maschinellen Lernens” wird mit einer Leitungsposition als wissenschaftlicher Direktor am Deutschen Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) in Kaiserslautern verbunden. Die Professur “Methodische Grundlagen des Maschinellen Lernens“ ist primär am Fachbereich verankert. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit Forschenden an der TUK und den angegliederten Instituten ist jedoch möglich und wird auch erwartet.


Für beide Professuren forschen Sie zu einem oder mehreren der folgenden Themen von ML und Deep Learning: Erklärbarkeit und Interpretierbarkeit, Datenfusion, Vertrauenswürdigkeit, Anomalieerkennung, Fairness, Extreme Classification, stochastische Optimierung, Lerntheorie, Generative Modelling, Representation Learning, Bayesian ML oder Reinforcement Learning. Bezüglich Anwendungen in ML und Deep Learning interessieren wir uns beispielsweise für folgende Themen: Lebenswissenschaften, Finanzdienstleistungen, Klimawandel und Nachhaltigkeit, Sozialwissenschaft sowie oder Maschinenbau und Verfahrenstechnik.


Ihre herausragende akademische Qualifikation belegen Sie durch eine nachgewiesene Anzahl qualitativ hochstehender Publikationen in renommierten Zeitschriften und Konferenzen des Maschinellen Lernens (z.B. NeurIPS, ICML, ICLR, AAAI, COLT, ECML, ACML, JMLR, TPAMI, MLJ, TNNLLS, CVPR, ECCV, etc.) oder in vergleichbaren anwendungsspezifischen Organen, Erfahrung in der Drittmitteleinwerbung und der Durchführung von Projekten, Dokumentation Ihrer Lehrkompetenz und ausgezeichnete Englischkenntnisse.


Ihre Aufgaben:

Sie repräsentieren ihr Fachgebiet in Lehre und Forschung, bauen eine eigenständige Forschungsgruppe auf, beteiligen sich an der Lehre des Fachbereichs auf Bachelor- und Master-Niveau (Lehrveranstaltungen in den Masterstudiengängen werden in englischer Sprache angeboten), betreuen Promovierende und wirken in der universitären Selbstverwaltung mit. Es wird von Ihnen erwartet, dass Sie mit bestehenden Forschungsgruppen an der TUK (disziplinär oder interdisziplinär) zusammenarbeiten und die Forschung des Fachbereichs in mindestens einem seiner wesentlichen Forschungsbereiche unterstützen.


Einstellungsvoraussetzungen:

Neben den allgemeinen dienstrechtlichen Voraussetzungen gelten die in § 49 des Hochschulgesetzes Rheinland-Pfalz geregelten Einstellungsvoraussetzungen. Der Text ist auf der Homepage der TU Kaiserslautern hinterlegt ( https://www.uni-kl.de/intern/meine-tuk/hauptabteilung-1/rechtsvorschriften/). Das Land Rheinland-Pfalz und die Technische Universität Kaiserslautern vertreten ein Betreuungskonzept, bei dem eine hohe Präsenz der Lehrenden am Hochschulort erwartet wird. Die Bereitschaft zur Mitarbeit an der Verwaltung der Hochschule wird vorausgesetzt.


Ihre Bewerbung:

Bitte senden Sie Ihre Bewerbung bis zum 31.12.2020 in einer PDF-Datei an dekanat@cs.uni-kl.de. Alternativ können Sie einen Upload-Link anfordern oder Ihre Bewerbung auch in Papierform an folgende Adresse senden:


Dekanat des Fachbereichs Informatik
Technische Universität Kaiserslautern
Postfach 3049,
67653 Kaiserslautern


Bitte geben Sie im Anschreiben an, auf welche Professur(en) Sie sich bewerben. Folgende Informationen werden in deutscher oder englischer Sprache erbeten (Englisch wird bevorzugt): ausgefülltes Kandidatendatenblatt (https://cs.uni-kl.de/en/goto/w3-ml), Anschreiben, Lebenslauf (Ausbildung, Berufungen, Auszeichnungen etc.), Liste aller Publikationen und ausgewählter Vorträge, Liste von (ca. fünf) repräsentativen Publikationen (URL oder PDF-Datei im Anhang), Stipendien, Forschungsvorhaben, Liste Ihrer Lehrveranstaltungen und Lehrevaluationen (optional), Ausbildungen (falls zutreffend), Zeugnisse, Liste internationaler Zusammenarbeiten sowie Referenzen (oder deren Kontaktinformationen).


Mit Ihrer Bewerbung stimmen Sie der weiteren internen Verarbeitung Ihrer Daten zu dienstlichen Zwecken gemäß der Europäischen Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (DS-GVO) und des Landesdatenschutzgesetzes RLP zu.


Die TUK ist eine familienfreundliche Universität, sie schätzt die Vielfalt ihrer Mitglieder und ermöglicht Chancengleichheit für alle.


Die TU Kaiserslautern ermutigt qualifizierte Akademikerinnen nachdrücklich, sich zu bewerben. Bewerberinnen und Bewerber mit Kindern sind willkommen.


Schwerbehinderte werden bei entsprechender Eignung bevorzugt eingestellt (bitte Nachweis beifügen).


Weitere Informationen erteilen

Professur “Anwendungen des Maschinellen Lernens”:
Prof. Dr. Prof. h.c. Andreas Dengel (andreas.dengel@dfki.de).

Professur “Methodische Grundlagen des Maschinellen Lernens ”:
Prof. Dr. Marius Kloft (kloft@cs.uni-kl.de).